

MEDICAL TEACHING INSTITUTION ABBOTTABAD [AYUB MEDICAL COLLEGE/AYUB TEACHING HOSPITAL] BOG SECRETARIAT



Email: secretarybog@ath.gov.pkPhone No: 0992/9311161

Proposal on Selection of Departmental Chairperson:

As per the decision of BoG in 92nd BoG meeting held on 6-1-2024, the subcommittee was constituted comprising of Prof. Dr. Aftab Rabbani & Mr. Asad Khan Jadoon to review the criteria to be laid down for the selection of "Chairperson". Under MTI KP Act 2015 with consultation of stakeholders i.e. senior faculty members & junior faculty members, relevant section of law regarding the appointment of Chairperson is as under

- 1. **KP MTI reforms Act 2015 Section 9(B)** Dean. ---(1) The College shall be headed by a Dean of the College.
- (4) The chairpersons of various departments for Medical Institutions shall be appointed by the Dean, from amongst the medical faculty on such terms and conditions and in such a manner as may be prescribed by the Board. A chairperson may be removed by the Board on the recommendation of the Dean.

2. **KP MTI Reforms Act 2015** Section 17 Sub clause (3) Reproduced below:

"(3) Employees, who do not opt for the private practice within the premises of the hospitals, clinics, imaging facilities and laboratories of the Medical Teaching Institutions, and shall not be entitled to any increase and adjustment, incentives, bonuses or other ancillary benefits or administrative post, except in case of extraordinary need, as decided by the Board."

3. **Read with KP MTI Reforms Act 2015 Section 9 (1)(3)** reproduced below:

- "(1) All colleges in the Province of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa shall affiliate with the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Medical University for the purpose of their examination.
- "(3) In each college, there shall be an Academic Council, headed by the Dean and consisting of such members as may be prescribed, to set principles and standards for teaching, research, training, student admissions, curriculum development and to ensure and inculcate the highest ethical standards."

MTI Regulations 2020 amended 2023 which are against the MTI Act as decided in 92nd Board meeting and referred the matter to this subcommittee.



MEDICAL TEACHING INSTITUTION ABBOTTABAD [AYUB MEDICAL COLLEGE/AYUB TEACHING HOSPITAL] BOG SECRETARIAT



Email: secretarybog@ath.gov.pkPhone No: 0992/9311161

Keeping in view above legal aspect the committee consulted all the stakeholders, including the Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, particularly the active chairperson namely Dr. Imran Khan Chairperson Medicine Cardiac surgeon. Their valuable inputs in the prevailing circumstances were taken in consideration.

The senior faculty expressed their reservations about considering/appointment of junior faculty on the Chairperson post. Junior have their own views of latest mandatory requirements, Research conducted by them as it was also needed for their future promotions.

The Medical Director also provided the record of present Chairperson's and details of IBP who presently carried out their practice in the premises of hospital in compliance of KP MTI Reforms Act 2015. The record was thoroughly seen and attached.(Annex-1)

According to KP MTI Reforms Act 2015 Section: 9 and KMU recent directions

The KMU has implemented ("Modular system of examinations") replacing the years old teaching method. To teach under modular system of the education. KMU prescribes extra master degree of teaching a part form the Post-graduation medical degree.

keeping in view legal and present prevailing system in MTI Abbottabad we personally analyzed the job description of Chairperson which mainly concerned with the academic/teaching, research & training of 'undergraduate/post graduates' and curriculum development of medical students. Other aspects of the chairperson job in hospital side it is an administrative post.

Basically in the spirit of KP MTI reforms Act2015 it is to improve and enhance the quality of healthcare services for the patients.

So far MTI regulations 2020 amended 2023, that prescribed the only methodology of selection of Chairperson. the said regulations has not mentioned the criteria for the selection of departmental Chairperson.

As per direction of Subcommittee, Manager HR, AMC has presented a notification on departmental Chairperson selection criteria, which was issued by the Dean vide; Notification/HR/AMC-2021/3868-71 dated 01-04-2021. (Annex -2) As per KP MTI Reforms



MEDICAL TEACHING INSTITUTION ABBOTTABAD [AYUB MEDICAL COLLEGE/AYUB TEACHING HOSPITAL] BOG SECRETARIAT



Email: secretarybog@ath.gov.pkPhone No: 0992/9311161

Act 2015 Dean has no authority to issue such notification without approval of the Board. Only Board as per Section 9B sub clause (4) has power to make such criteria.

Hence, in the circumstances both legal and prevailing practices and smooth functioning of hospital & college, the chairperson have important role on both sides.

Therefore the BoG Subcommittee reached a conclusion which cover the legal aspect as discussed above and prevailing situation we recommend the following criteria for the selection of departmental Chairperson.

The Dean shall appoint Departmental Chairperson under following Criteria:

	Description	Marks
1.	Seniority/Professor	30
2.	Associate/Assistant Professor	15
3.	Institutional Base Practice	30
4.	Administrative Skill/Experience/diploma	
	of Administration etc	05
5.	KMU/Master in Health professional education etc	05
6.	Publications /research papers etc	05
7.	Chairman/member of Selection Committee	05
8.	Dean	05

A candidate securing highest marks shall be appointed as Chairperson.

Chairperson shall be appointed for three remaining continuous years of service which shall be extendable for another term subject to the approval of the Board.

The proposal is hereby submitted to the Board for consideration and approval.

Prof. Dr. Aftab Rabbani Member BoG Mr. Asad Khan Jadoon Member BoG